Rinse, Leave In, or Wash Later? A Review of 20 Hair-Care Product Instructions
“Scalp care” is not one set of instructions. To make the difference visible, Folivis reviewed 20 English-language official product pages across eight brands on 23 October 2026. We recorded the rinse step, hair state, frequency and amount as described by the brands. We did not test products or assess their effectiveness.
What was in this sample?
The purposive convenience sample contained seven shampoos, eight leave-in scalp serums or treatments, three pre-shampoo treatments, one conditioner and one dry shampoo. Brand counts were: Living Proof 4; The INKEY List 3; OUAI 3; The Ordinary 2; OLAPLEX 2; Aveda 2; Briogeo 2; Act+Acre 2. Product selection deliberately included differing formats. These counts are properties of our selected sample, not estimates of what consumers buy or what the whole market offers.
Three different workflows
- Eight products had a conventional rinse-out step. These were seven shampoos and one conditioner.
- Three products specified a pre-wash treatment followed by rinsing and shampoo. Living Proof’s Exfoliator described five minutes; the two INKEY exfoliating treatments described ten minutes.
- Eight products were leave-in scalp serums or treatments. Their wording differed in hair state and frequency, so “leave-in” alone did not define a complete routine.
- One dry shampoo used a brush-out workflow. We kept it separate rather than treating it as either a water-rinse shampoo or a scalp serum.
In total, 11 of the 20 selected products described a water-rinse step, including the three pre-wash treatments. That total should not be read as a market percentage.
Why the details matter
The Ordinary’s serum specified a clean, dry scalp, daily use and an ideal bedtime application. Aveda’s overnight serum allowed damp or dry hair. OLAPLEX’s Scalp Longevity Treatment described three uses per week while also allowing daily use. These are instructions from their manufacturers, not evidence that one schedule is more effective than another.
Even the word “shampoo” did not establish an identical routine. OUAI’s Detox Shampoo described a one-to-three-minute contact time, while the reviewed Fine Hair Shampoo described lathering and rinsing without a timed pause in its selected instruction section. A dry shampoo’s brush-out directions were different again.
Source-linked record table
Each product name below links to the official page reviewed. “Not stated” means not specified in the selected directions, not necessarily absent from every part of the website. Follow the instructions supplied with your own current product.
| ID | Official product source | Use mode | Hair state | Frequency as stated |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | The Ordinary: Multi-Peptide Serum for Hair Density | leave-in | dry | daily; ideally bedtime |
| 2 | The Ordinary: Sulphate 4% Cleanser for Body and Hair | rinse-out | wet | daily (product overview) |
| 3 | Living Proof: Scalp Care Density Serum | leave-in | dry or damp | daily |
| 4 | Living Proof: Scalp Care Exfoliator | pre-wash then rinse | wet or dry | 2-3 times per week or as needed |
| 5 | Living Proof: Perfect hair Day Shampoo | rinse-out | wet | not stated |
| 6 | Living Proof: Perfect hair Day Conditioner | rinse-out | not stated in selected directions | not stated |
| 7 | OLAPLEX: No.4 Bond Maintenance Strengthening Shampoo | rinse-out | wet | daily or according to wash frequency (FAQ) |
| 8 | OLAPLEX: Scalp Longevity Treatment | leave-in | wet or dry | 3 times per week; daily use also described |
| 9 | The INKEY List: Caffeine Stimulating Scalp Treatment | leave-in | dry | nightly |
| 10 | The INKEY List: Salicylic Acid Exfoliating Scalp Treatment | pre-wash then rinse | dry or damp | 1-2 times per week |
| 11 | The INKEY List: Glycolic Acid Exfoliating Scalp Scrub | pre-wash then rinse | dry or damp | 1-2 times per week |
| 12 | Aveda: Scalp Solutions Overnight Scalp Renewal Serum | leave-in | damp or dry | nightly or as desired |
| 13 | Aveda: Scalp Solutions Balancing Shampoo | rinse-out | wet | daily or as needed |
| 14 | Briogeo: Scalp Revival Charcoal + Coconut Oil Micro-Exfoliating Shampoo | rinse-out | wet | weekly or as needed; FAQ limits to twice weekly |
| 15 | Briogeo: Scalp Revival Charcoal + Biotin Dry Shampoo | brush out; no water-rinse step stated | not stated in selected directions | not stated |
| 16 | Act+Acre: Stem Cell Scalp Serum | leave-in | damp or dry | daily (FAQ) |
| 17 | Act+Acre: Daily Hydro Scalp Serum | leave-in | damp or dry | daily (page icon) |
| 18 | OUAI: Scalp Serum | leave-in | wet or dry | daily |
| 19 | OUAI: Detox Shampoo | rinse-out | wet | as needed; dry-hair start weekly; oily-hair 1-2 times per week |
| 20 | OUAI: Fine Hair Shampoo | rinse-out | wet | not stated |
Method and coding rules
We searched and followed official brand product pages for shampoos, scalp serums, pre-wash treatments and adjacent wash-step products. We included 20 distinct formulas with retrievable English instructions; different pack sizes were not counted as different products. Sources included US-facing pages, three UK INKEY pages and one Australian Ordinary page. Site locale is recorded in the accompanying dataset and does not establish availability in another market.
“Rinse-out” required an explicit rinse instruction. “Pre-wash then rinse” required an instruction to use before shampooing and rinse. “Leave-in” required an explicit leave-in or do-not-rinse statement. The dry shampoo received its own brush-out code. Hair state, amount and frequency were recorded without transferring another product’s instructions. Clearly labelled product overviews and FAQs were used where identified in the dataset.
One retrieved Briogeo page was excluded because the page title described a pre-wash oil while its body and instructions described shampoo. We did not decide which text was correct. This exclusion is documented in the dataset and the item is not included in the 20-product denominator.
What this review cannot tell you
This was an AI-assisted, brand-funded desk review with a single coding workflow checked against source passages. There was no independent human or clinical review, randomized sampling, purchase, application or laboratory testing. It does not establish safety, ingredient concentrations, effectiveness, product superiority or a cause of hair loss. Folivis products were not included in the sample. Online pages can change and may differ from packaging or other regional versions.
Download the review and source-linked records (PDF) · Download the structured source dataset (JSON) · Use the product-label worksheet (PDF)
For a plain-language walkthrough, read how to distinguish shampoo and scalp-serum instructions.
Publisher and funder: Folivis. Version 1.0, 23 October 2026. No affiliation with the named brands is implied. Corrections: [email protected]. Suggested citation: Folivis. Rinse, Leave In, or Wash Later? A Review of 20 Hair-Care Product Instructions. Version 1.0 (2026).